Advice needed please

Geoff Critchley

Just Joined
Sep 6, 2014
Hi I have read a lot on the forum and am now in need of advice. We have 2 Claude Butler hybrid aluminium bikes in great condition and I would like to put an electric kit on them. This is due to myself having problems with my knees. I am coming up to 66 and weigh 80 kilos. We bike in France and it is very flat where we are. The normal distance for us is 30 - 40 miles with a couple of picnics in. We want to continue to pedal so we were thinking of a pedal assist so we can still put the effort in. The fitting is not a problem for me as I was a service engineer. Also can you turn off the electric side so we have the normal bikes again? Could you point us to a kit that is reliable and not too expensive.

Regards Geoff & Jenny

Attachments

D

Deleted member 4366

The Cyclotricity kit is about the cheapest. They also give good backup and support. Their motor goes in the front wheel, which brings some points which require consideration detailed below. You need to get the optional LcD or LED display to have adjustable pedal assist. Without one, the power is too high.

Your wireless cycle computers probably won't work because of interference, so you'll probably have to get wired ones. That will be the same for any front motor kit. If you take the option of the LCD (£100 extra), it has all the functions of a cycle computer.