Advice on e bike suitability for chronic pain/fatigue

Eagleowl

Pedelecer
Feb 5, 2019
Hello! I'm a complete newbie to e bikes and am considering buying an e bike...

I haven't ridden my old Ridgeback hybrid since the late nineties and later became very unwell with CFS/FM in 2002. I have moderate to severe chronic pain and fatigue with asthma and osteoporosis. I have pretty much given up driving due to medication side effects but bus services around Hampshire countryside are few, expensive and take forever. I have no local train station either so desperate to get some of my independence back and get out of my village to sight see, shop a bit and to hopefully get fitter without exhausting myself. E bikes sound like a real answer.

I really love the idea of using an e bike and have read some posts from other members who also have ME/FM etc. which has given me some confidence. I know we are all very different but I should love to hear about your experiences with e bikes from those who have ME/FM. And whether it is even safe for me to ride.

I have really enjoyed reading this forum in the last few weeks and it seems like a really friendly and helpful community here. Thank you!

Last edited:

Fat Rat

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 7, 2018
UK
Hi
Welcome to the site
I hope you find what your looking for soon

Eagleowl

Pedelecer
Feb 5, 2019
Thank you Fat Rat!
I just hope I haven't put too many people off!!!

Would be very interested to know which bikes those of you with chronic fatigue in particular choose...

Laser Man

Pedelecer
Jul 1, 2018
Michelmersh SO51
Most bike shops should let you have a reasonably long test ride and Halfords are still offering a 48 hour test, so it's pretty easy to have a go and see how you get on.

If you maintained the Ridgeback yourself back in the day, you should be able to fit a kit from Woosh or similar firms and save some money.