Advice on which e-bike to buy

kam99

Just Joined
Jul 26, 2020
Hello,

I am looking for advice on the best e-bike to buy please.

I am 65 years old and recently retired. I am 5’9”, overweight (about 100kg) and unfit. My motives are to get fitter and just get out of the house for fresh air, exercise and interest.
I have limited experience on a manual Halfords crossfire hybrid last year.

The e-bike would primarily be used on the Wirral coastal path and local cycle paths. However, I would need to use it on-road to get off-road if that makes sense! It would also be useful to get me to the shops etc, but I have a car, so that is not the primary use for the bike. My maximum budget would be about £1500. I understand availability is a problem at the moment, and am prepared to wait for the right model.

I am currently looking at a mountain bike rather than a hybrid, as flexibility and stability is more important to me than pure speed.

My initial choice was the Halfords Carrera Vulcan. It is within budget. I understand there are cut-out issues with that model? Balanced against that is the peace of mind that there is a Halfords near bye for servicing and repairs.

I have also looked at Woosh Big Bear plus. I like the fact that it comes with all the accessories. I am a bit concerned about balance issues with the motor on the front wheel and the battery situated on the rear rack. Servicing and repairs are also a potential issue, as is a one-year guarantee as opposed to the 2 years Halfords offer.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Keith

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
You will almost certainly need to use the Halfords warranty in two years of regular use. Any problems with the Big Bear will show up straight away, after which there isn't much that can go wrong.