Battery selection question

Earl

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jun 18, 2019
I recently bought a 500 watt, 36 volt rear wheel drive (26" wheel, w/7 speed sprocket) kit that I expect to be delivered in the next week.
500 watts @ 36 volts is 13.88 amps load. I'm considering assembling a battery consisting of 10 series banks of 3 cells parallel of 18650 lithium ion cells. (a total of 30 cells)

My question is: I see cells rated for constant discharge rates of 5, 10, 15, 20 etc. amps however...
It appears to me (absolute newbie here) that if I have 30 cells and the total draw/load is13.88 amps, then the sustainable discharge rate required per cell would be 13.88/30, or .46 amps per cell. If that is correct, then there is no point in buying high rated discharge (expensive) cells.

maybe i'm missing something.

Earl

Jun 18, 2019
clarification: I meant 3 cell banks in parallel and 10 banks of those connected in series for 36v.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Not quite !!!
Your cell rating will depend on the max controller current and a bit of headway (30% or more, 50% would be better) so as not to stress the cells any where near there CDR, this helps to extend cycle life without knackering the cells.
A cell operating at near it's Continuous Discharge Rate (CDR) will get very warm or hot, this is bad and will induce higher internal resistance which in turn will cause bad or severe voltage sag. Both of these together means a cell is past it's best.
As you rightly mention your 36v battery will have 10 parallel strings of 3 cells each string connected in series.
Your current draw is from each cell string so you have to divide your max controller rating by 3, this is the max current each cell will need to deliver but as mentioned you will need a cell rated a bit higher. A cell with a higher current draw will run cooler then a cell with low current draw.

Example;