Bike kits

Moon2

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jan 19, 2014
Guildford
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a bike kit for converting a Revolution Trailfinder '12 (Pretty much same as the new '13 model).

I'm about 73kg, weight goes up to 85-90 with stuff in backpack.

I've been looking at 8Fun's 250W 26" front wheel conversion kit, BMSbattery kit and ebay ones as well, but not really sure which one to go for, looking preferably for one with a rear mounted battery if not, a bottle type. Also, does anyone know how much the BMS kit would cost roughly to be delivered?

Also, I'm a newbie, I've looked at the forums here, but can't quite decide - front or rear wheel?

8Fun Kit:
http://www.8funbike.com/detail.asp/sku=EK26F36R

BMS Kit:
http://www.bmsbattery.com/ebike-kits/574-bafang-250watts-front-driving-qswxk-motor-e-bike-kit.html

revolution-trailfinder-13.jpg

Attachments

Last edited:

Alan Quay

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 4, 2012
Devon
Delivery for that kit will be $160 - $200(USD) from BMS (Depending on courier/Timescale) according to my logon. You will probably get stung for import duty and VAT, allow another £50 (GBP) or so.

Front or rear? Depends, and opinion varies but I've done a few of each, and front is easier. That said, if you are already proficient with bike mechanics, rear is not hard, just takes a bit more time messing with cassettes/freewheels.

That bike looks to have steel forks, so you can choose either at 250 watts.
As for performance, I'm assuming you want it for road use, where it makes little difference.

Bottle or rack battery: You will need to be sure you have enough space in the triangle for a bottle battery, but if you can fit it there, then you have better weight distribution. You are limited to about 10ah currently with a bottle battery, which also means about 10a. With a rack battery you can go up to about 20ah and, depending on battery, 20a. Since this is the most expensive part, its worth considering carefully exactly what you require.

Hope that helps