BMS Low Voltage Cutout

robwalley

Pedelecer
Apr 17, 2012
Gloucester
I am just beginning to tweak settings on a BBS02 controller via the Bafang ConfigTool software and USB/Serial cable and it occurred to me that there are probably two different low voltage cutouts. One I have set for the controller and another on the battery BMS. I have a 14.5a 36V which the BMS LVC is probably around 31V but I don't really know.

Anyone know if it's worth setting the controller higher or lower than the BMS and are there different symptons to each cutoff, i.e. BMS cuts off and no power at all; Controller cuts off but display errors maybe??

danielrlee

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 27, 2012
Westbury, Wiltshire
torquetech.co.uk
BMS LVC (low voltage cutout) should only be relied upon for protecting the battery from irreversible damage caused by over discharging. Controller LVC should be set at a higher voltage - IMO, around 3.5-3.6V per cell (series string) for 18650 format cells, since available energy below this voltage is almost zero.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
I am just beginning to tweak settings on a BBS02 controller via the Bafang ConfigTool software and USB/Serial cable and it occurred to me that there are probably two different low voltage cutouts. One I have set for the controller and another on the battery BMS. I have a 14.5a 36V which the BMS LVC is probably around 31V but I don't really know.

Anyone know if it's worth setting the controller higher or lower than the BMS and are there different symptons to each cutoff, i.e. BMS cuts off and no power at all; Controller cuts off but display errors maybe??
It's about 29V.You should set LVC on the controller to 31V.

• Informative
Reactions: robwalley

robwalley

Pedelecer
Apr 17, 2012
Gloucester
It's about 29V.You should set LVC on the controller to 31V.