Bosch performance CX 2018, ease of installing badass dongle?

Julie

Pedelecer
Jul 30, 2014
Gainsborough England
Hi,

After a couple of years of deliberation I’ve finally bought an ebike, it is a mountain bike with a Bosch performance CX motor, I’ll be using it for about 50% off road fun, and 50% very long commutes (about 28 miles each way).

The commute is mostly flat countryside roads I’d like to get the assisted speed up to around 20mph to help reduce the commute time. It seems the badass dongle is the easiest install, but I can’t find any YouTube videos showing how to install it, only a video about the magnet. I’m not good at understanding installation instructions and diagrams, does anyone know of a YouTube video that shows the actual dongle installation?

Any advice is appreciated, thanks for reading.

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015

TZC

Pedelecer
Feb 4, 2014
Hi julie I'm not sure you would get 56 miles out of the battery going at around 20mph there and back. Might have to put in the work for the last few miles

Edit: I suppose it depends on your weight and the weight of the bike, it's surely pushing things though? anybody?

https://www.bosch-ebike.com/en/service/range-assistant/

There you can get an idea. I came up with a rough range at 15.5mph in turbo of 34 miles. See if you can tweak it better to your circumstance

Last edited:

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
if you use the lower power settings then yes if you use turbo and max rpm 120 it wont do 20 miles if that.

i can get about 25 miles but i cant spin the cranks at that speed non stop.

Julie

Pedelecer
Jul 30, 2014
Gainsborough England
Hi julie I'm not sure you would get 56 miles out of the battery going at around 20mph there and back. Might have to put in the work for the last few miles

Edit: I suppose it depends on your weight and the weight of the bike, it's surely pushing things though? anybody?

https://www.bosch-ebike.com/en/service/range-assistant/