can they handle it?

stevieb

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2014
i was riding at a mountainbike trail centre recently on my non electric bike and met a guy on an electric downhill haibike.
it certainly looked the part and this got me wondering how well it would handle a spot of downhilling.
i have some knowledge of the sport and know how punishing {and expensive} it can be.
can the electrical components stand up to the constant jarring and sudden impacts on landing jumps?
also does the different weight distribution have any significant effect on the handling, bearing in mind that dh bikes are heavier than ordinary xc bikes ?
thanks

Jay Russell

Pedelecer
Dec 26, 2015
Pennine West Yorkshire
There are some videos on YouTube about e-mtb riding. They look fine but the extra weight affects handling on high speed corners.

I think that if you have bought an electric MTB from a proper 'brand' turn you should be able to expect performance.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Quality crank drive unit e-bikes like the Haibikes maybe, since the motor unit and battery are usually both central and therefore substantially protected from shocks by the suspension and indirect position of shock origin. The battery mountings on some might need reinforcement though.

But hub motors no on all counts, handling, weight distribution and impacts.

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
the dh pro is 24.6kg its a lot more heavy than a normal dh bike and you will feel it on the turns and over the jumps on landings.

with the extra 10kg and you on top it will land like a tank over the jumps and take its toll on the wheels wheel hub and rear sus and battery mount over time.

a normal dh bike will win every time as its just to heavy for technical stuff and jumps so doubt you will see 1 on red bull or other events.

also the 15mph limit will just slow you down even more with out a dongle.

this is my 11spd xd hub after jumping it up the forest dh section.