Carbon single speed commuter

Richardab

Pedelecer
Apr 17, 2018
UK
OK i have finally got going with this build, following arrival of BMS batteries q100c 36v 201rpm plus 11.6 ah 48v battery with integrated 20a controller and lcd3 controls.

I have ordered rim and spokes to match the existing front one.

Wheel is laced with 2 cross using dt swiss alpine 3 spokes which are butted 2.3/1.8/2mm thicker at the hub j bend as i was nervous about the diameter of the spoke hole and thickness of flange. Wheel built up ok, i’m not a pro but have built a dozen or so wheels, these laced up at around 120newtons, the rim i used was a dt swiss asymettric with the spoke bed offset by 3mm so the dishing is a bit less than a regular rear cassette wheel. One thing i did notice in building the wheel was my usual technique of spinning wheel back and forth to locate wobble points was hampered by the wheel only really wanting to spin in the forward direction because of the clutch i assume.