Charging problem - Raleigh Array - Suntour battery and motor

Michael Price

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 7, 2018
Hi all
I recently bought a Raleigh Array - which is great

Just one major problem - plugging in the charger to the battery - it is very fiddly and difficult - the local bike shop things the pins may be a bit bent and the sockets are a bit damaged
This is because it is impossible to be certain that the plug and socket and actually lined up - there are no guide rails and the pins are so small (in all dimersions) taht you can;t even feel when it is lined up

I have to say that the LBS has been very helpful and so have Raleigh but it does seem like a design fault - it really should not be so difficult.

You might thing that maybe I am a bit ham fisted - but this is my 3rd ebike - I have been using them for 10 years - and the others could have been put on charge in a cramped shed in the dark with perfect accuracy every time. This one has to be taken off the bike and then taken inside - and even then I need to big light on to see what I am ding

Also - I have been an IT technician or various kinds for the last 40 years - so I am used to putting things together carefully without breaking them - but this thing has me flumuxed

Raleigh are sending a new battery and charger to replace the current ones. They have also admitted that they also find it very fiddly to charge them - they are made by Suntour so it is not Raleigh's design, They are also going to look at the design and see if it can be improved - and have promised to contact me and update mine if a better solution is found.

So basically Raleigh have done exactly what I would hope for - which is greate

I was just wondering if anyone else has had the same problem - either on Raleigh Arrarys or possible a similar Suntour battery/charger

Vin

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 24, 2019