Choices, choices

Chilljill

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jul 21, 2018
Hi guys,

I'm new to world of ebikes so after a bit of advice about which one will suit me best. The problem I'm having is that I live in the Dales and I can't find a LBS with any to try. I did have a go on a friend's Freego and I didn't feel like I was doing much or that I was really in control, so I think I want a bike with a torque sensor as I want to still cycle but just want a bit of assistance.

My plan is to use the bike to get the 3 miles to train station without getting too sweaty. So range anxiety isn't an issue. I have two stations and two routes. The aim is I'll start on first route, gentle hills (rise of 75ft descent of 30ft) but hopefully also be able to do second hilly route rise of 250ft and descent to 280ft before too long.

I have asthma and hills really trigger me so even though a short distance have never made it via hilly route under my own steam. The reason I want to do hilly route is that it'd save me £600 a year train fare (different zone).

Another issue is that I'm only 5ft 2in, inside leg of 28in and like to be able to touch floor from seat and not many websites mention seat height so I'm not sure a lot of the models will suit. Has to be step through.

Ideally I'm looking at cheap end at £1k (so I can get through bike to work scheme) but could stretch to £1.5k.

Any advice us appreciated.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
you should hurry up and try a few more bikes as soon as possible.
Low cost bikes (under £1,000) have been hit by EU anti dumping duty since yesterday.

• Agree
Reactions: Wisper Bikes

Wisper Bikes

Trade Member
Apr 11, 2007
Sevenoaks Kent
Our new 24” Wisper 705se bikes are now available at £1,149. Hydraulic disc brakes and set up ready to roll. As Woosh says prices are going up so it’ll be £1,249 on August 1st. Our bikes are now built in Kent.