Help! Complete Newbie - Advice needed.

nexus490

Finding my (electric) wheels
Nov 17, 2019
Hi all,

first off, glad to be here; This looks like a fantastic resource.

A bit about my situation, I'm going to be moving house in a few months and the walk to the station, is a bit on the long side, considering an Ebike to help me out but I have no idea what would be best to meet my requirements.

I'd say just for now price is no object.

So I'm not in the best of shape, bit on the heavy side, but not too bad, I'd be looking for something to help me with quite a hilly commute so it needs a bit of grunt to it.

It'd be doing half hour each way to the station, then what I'm looking for is as compact a fold as possible as it would then be on a busy commuter train into London.

So I was thinking something small enough to go into a bag that I could wheel like a luggage case (any recommendations there would be good too) as I have a 10 minute walk on the other side.

As well as this it needs to have somewhere I can put my bag with all the usual work stuff. (Laptop etc)

Now the above doesn't seem to difficult from what I see, but on top of that I'd like something that can also handle a woodland trail at the weekends.

Bonus points for a removable battery.

Thanks guys!

KirstinS

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2011
Brighton
Welcome.

It's pretty easy requirements..... Until you get to the fokding/busy commuter bit. You have to be careful. It's a been a few years since I commuted that way but it was pretty much a Brompton or nothing to fold small enough for certain train line rules at peak times.

How many actual miles and is it flattish?

KirstinS

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2011
Brighton
Oh and just noticed you want a trail capable machine too

Tbh that's just too many compromises in one bike

Let's see the actual milage you are going to need commuting wise

But I suspect Im gonna recommend a standard Brompton for commuting and a full sized ebike for weekends and trails

nexus490