controller for synergie mistral

dil

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 4, 2009
hi all, the controller on my 2009 synergie mistral is now broken and alien have ceased trading, so i was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction towards getting a new controller?

D

Deleted member 4366

Controllers are pretty standard, so you can take your pick of 36v 15A ones. Is your motor with or without hall sensors?

Why do you think the controller is broken? They're normally pretty reliable.

dil

Mar 4, 2009
Controllers are pretty standard, so you can take your pick of 36v 15A ones. Is your motor with or without hall sensors?

Why do you think the controller is broken? They're normally pretty reliable.
thanks. you are right; i don't know it is broken and i am no expert. what i know is that there is current reaching the controller from the battery and that there is no current reaching the motor. i guess it could be a cabling problem and i am having it re-checked at a shop, so i was jumping the gun.

i don't know if the motor has hall sensors. it is a brushed 250w motor. if it is a controller problem, is that something i need to know first? + many of the controllers seem to be rated by wattage rather than ampage. would i be looking for a 250w controller or, i guess, 540w, given that 36 x 15 = 540, or 500w maybe?

D

Deleted member 4366

That's an old bike then with the brushed motor. Brushed ones don't have hall sensors. Brushed controllers are not as reliable as brushless ones, but the common problem is blown MOSFETS, which gives you full throttle as soon as you switch it on. See what the shop says if they're going to check it.

It's not easy to figure out controller ratings unless they have the maximum current written on them. Yours should say "overcurrent protection X amps" what is X? The watt ratings don't really mean anything because they're the rated power, not the maximum. You need one with the same maximum current as your present one.

dil

Mar 4, 2009