Converting from two to three wheels

annsimpson

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2014
Please can anyone tell me if its possible and very costly to convert an already electric two wheeler to a three and also if there's a means of carrying one on a car, many thanks

annsimpson

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2014
I thought it might be cheaper than buying a new bike, my two wheeler was new this year, I've taken a couple of tumbles when tired and its putting me off, I have an electric bike as my knees are bad and can't walk as far as I'd like but can cycle 20+ miles. My bike is just a standard 6 speed low step through with a good sturdy frame and the throttle was put on for me by dave at telford I'm not very good at linking to photos.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Your bike will need to have a front wheel or centre crank motor of course. There are a number of conversions to turn bikes into trikes as this Google Link shows. Most through ebay though.

BikeCare are a well established UK supplier who are also cycle dealers and repairers and you'll see their kits on this link. Theirs has the advantage of wheel size options so you can match the wheel size you have at present. They don't appear to have a fitting service, so if you want it done for you it would be necessary to arrange something with a local shop.

Trikes are not easy to ride if you've only ever been used to riding a two wheeled bike. It can be very difficult to overcome one's normal bike handling instincts and you'll probably only make very slow progress for a while until you get accustomed to the strange handling characteristics. Cornering will always be quite slow due to the narrow width making it easy for the trike to topple.

annsimpson

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2014
Ok thanks as I have a rear wheel motor that would seem to be out of the question but it was worth asking

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union

annsimpson

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2014