Cycle to Work

scotsguy00

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 2, 2019
Morning.

Newbie here.

Looking to buy a bike on works cycle to work scheme.

The limit for the scheme is £1k so kinda limited to what is available on the ebike front.

My commute is approx 6 miles each way, undulating route with one quite steep hill (not sure of the gradient)

I want to get into cycling to aid my weight loss. 2 stone down, but still 23 stone.

Research took me to Woosh, but unfortunately they are on my works cycle scheme.

Any recommendations on a £1k ebike for larger men.

Thanks.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
Talk to the suppliers, practically all of them will let you use your £1,000 voucher and pay the top up yourself.

scotsguy00

Mar 2, 2019
You could also look in to Green Commute Initiative Ltd through the cycle to work scheme without the £1000 limit.
I work for the NHS sonic would imagine it would be a nitemare getting them to subscribe to a new cycle to work scheme, but thanks.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
I work for the NHS sonic would imagine it would be a nitemare getting them to subscribe to a new cycle to work scheme, but thanks.
I know we supply bikes on C2W to NHS staff. I'll get back to you on Monday.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
If I decide to bite the bullet and just buy a bike, would the big bear be suitable for me?
yes, the Big Bear is good for 16st-25st riders.

Reactions: scotsguy00

ohwheely19

Feb 27, 2019
I believe the way GCI works is that they can invoice for the amount as a "pay as you go" option.

So it's not like they have to sign up to a scheme - they can just pay a one off transaction to GCI who then handle the rest.

Their website isn't the best but has a lot of info. Could be worth contacting them to see what they can do with the NHS: https://greencommuteinitiative.uk/employers/