DIY Conversion - Voodoo Marasa

jerrysimon

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 27, 2009
Cambridge, UK
Well after a bit of a break from all things Ebike I am back this time moving to the dark side of large wheeled bikes and rear wheel motor conversions!

I have a lot of experienced in converting small wheeled bikes (Bromptons) and cut my teath on learning to build small wheels with Tongxin motors in them.

This project was sparked from rebuilding a S/H Voodoo Marasa and trying a couple of ebikes in Halfords as per this thread

So after some message exchanges with D8veh (such a helpful guy) I have settled on:

1. Q100C CST 36V350W 32-hole Rear Driving Hub Motor - RPM : 201 from BMS. I did considered the new light weight Xiongda motor some are trying but decided to start with a proven motor.

2. 36V/48V 350W 6 Mosfets 17A Brushless DC Sine Wave Controller with KT-LCD display from PSWPOWER. I decided this would give more options should I want to experiment with different battery packs i.e 36v or 48v.

Things have come a long way since my first builds in 2009 with narrow Tongxin motors in Bromptons, thumb throttle only and no display in sight!

Back then I would programme controllers from my PC. These new LCDs look really interesting.

Here is the donor bike.

IMG_0393.jpg

Its a lovely bike to ride now that I have updated it to hydraulic disc brakes and single main ring to an eight speed on the rear. Two inch Big Apple Plus tyres help with comfort.

I will be starting off with my DIY 36v, 6AH 5s4p * 2 pack (Sony Konion Cells) which weighs about 2kg and can be discreetly hidden. I could build the same battery now with half the weight but this one is still going strong after 3 years. As I live and ride around Cambridge the above seems the best fit riding mostly on flat terrain.

Time to work out spoke sizes!

Jerry

Last edited:

jerrysimon

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 27, 2009
Cambridge, UK