Do ebike controllers protect SLA batteries?

James M

Finding my (electric) wheels
Nov 25, 2014
I have been using an ebike conversion kit for nearly 3 years now. Recently I purchased a new conversion kit, both kits were 24v 250watt.

It seems this new kit has control over the batteries and my battery meter on the bike tells me the battery is flat and the motor cuts out for a few seconds then comes back on.
I usually can cover 5miles confortably with two 12v 12ah sla batteries,

After purchasing two brand new sla over xmas, I found the batteries cut out before I get to and from work, I put it down the battey, then thought maybe the controller has some sort of device that stops the battery getting too discharged because I measured the voltage of my batteries straight after my journey ''after the batteries were supposed to be dead'' and the voltage on both read 12.60v

Its annoying my bike motor cuts out on me even though it seems the batteries are ok.

Anyhelp or advice and even knowledge on this would be grateful!! nice one

D

Deleted member 4366

It sounds like you've bought the wrong type of batteries. What's the designation written on them and the brand name?

The controller limits the discharge to about 20v. Your are sagging under load, so the controller cuts off. The voltage then bounces back up and the controller allows power again, but as soon as you take power, down they go.

selrahc1992

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 10, 2014
I have been using an ebike conversion kit for nearly 3 years now. Recently I purchased a new conversion kit, both kits were 24v 250watt.

It seems this new kit has control over the batteries and my battery meter on the bike tells me the battery is flat and the motor cuts out for a few seconds then comes back on.
I usually can cover 5miles confortably with two 12v 12ah sla batteries,