does your employer help you?

stevieb

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2014
i was speaking to a fellow worker recently who is moving to a different company and one of the benefits are that they give a financial reward if you cycle to work.
some of the benefits i have heard about from other employers are ; extra time for changing showering
extra time for journeys
cycle to work scheme
i have been cycling to work for nearly 10 years and haven,t even thought about asking for any special consideration and am happy to do it for the benefits it gives me , but recently when hearing about other company benefits i feel that i should approach mine and ask.
i work for a large company that doesn.t provide any of the above and only one shower for those of us that do cycle . not even a cycle to work scheme.or secure covered bike shed
my employer prides itself on being environmentaly friendly but hasn,t even considered cyclists.
just wondered if any body has approached their employer with similar issues and what response they got.?
also what avenue is it best to go down?

paul b

Pedelecer
Apr 20, 2014
It helps me clock an extra 30 minutes work per day but as i am on contracted ours i am not gaining but looks better for me. Also using the work shower saves the pennys lol every little helps i suppose

stevieb

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2014
work shower does save a bit of cash but i,m amazed at the attitude of employers which seems to vary from very helpful and encouraging to non existant

Reactions: paul b

paul b

Pedelecer
Apr 20, 2014
work shower does save a bit of cash but i,m amazed at the attitude of employers which seems to vary from very helpful and encouraging to non existant
The trouble is most of the employers couldnt give two hoots whether you come in on a bike or car all their bothered about is if the work is done they should have to help with showers and bike security

stevieb

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2014
agree with you there Paul.