Ebike battery alternative

Wolvyr

Pedelecer
Mar 31, 2016
I'd like to start by saying I'm a newbie here, I've been lurking for a while but it's my first post. So with that said, if I'm posting in the wrong section, please don't hesitate to point me in the right direction. Thanks :)
Now on to topic.

So I recently got my hands on my first electric bicycle. It's a second hand bike, and is in pretty bad shape. The motor is of unknown wattage, though the previous owner assured me it is 'very fast', whatever that means. The battery pack is made up of 3 lead acid 12v battery packs with 12ah each. They are extremely heavy.

So I got this idea of collecting 7 5000-10000 mah power banks for smartphones and connecting them together with a dock with 7 male usb connectors. These 7 connectors on the dock will splice together to make a single wire that becomes a 3 pin connector compatible with my motor.

By using 7 of these, it produces a total voltage 35v which should work with my 36v motor (unless I'm mistaken).
However, I'm not too sure on how the current will work out for this. Most of these power banks have two female usb sockets, one with 2A and one with 1A.

So my question is, could this work? Is there a major flaw in my plan? Have I been blindingly ignorant to a fundamental law of nature?

Please educate me, pedelec community.
Edit: a few misspellings

Last edited:

Alan Quay

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 4, 2012
Devon
Not going to work I'm afraid. Even if you series up a bunch of 2a USB ports to get 35v, you will still only have 2a to play with.

You will need around 15a for a half decent battery.

Wolvyr

Pedelecer
Mar 31, 2016
I see. Thank you for your reply :)
Edit:
Unrelated, but does anyone have any suggestions as to how I find out the wattage and current drawn from my hub motor, since the previous owner could not give me this information?

Last edited:

Alan Quay

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 4, 2012
Devon
I see. Thank you for your reply :)
Edit: