Fat, tall, old and unfit bike options

John3456

Just Joined
Oct 10, 2019
Hi, I’m a newbie here but need some advice on which ebike to buy.
It will need to be strong as I am 6’3” and 170Kg and feeble.
My preferences are for a comfort bike, with a sit-up-beg style, serious mudguards, hub gears or CVT, a powerful crank motor with a battery that has a long range. I have a Little used Paisley Roadster Sovereign in the garage which probably indicates the style of thing I’m looking for.
I’d also like to buy British-made, given the current commercial situation.
I’ve looked and compared and become confused! Can anyone provide helpful advice? Thank you!

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
There isn't really anything on the market that would suit you. You'd need a custom build using something like a slow 500w MAC or BPM motor running at 48v and 25 amps, though that wouldn't be legal. 170kg is just too much for any legal bike.

DeanosBeano

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2019
if you want to get fit your better off walking , I had a triple bypass in Feb this year and i thought going to the forest on my ebike twice a week would give me good cardio , it didn`t i couldn`t even walk a mile of the same track after 5 months and was unfit AF :). Been walking a few months now two miles a day and much fitter .
there are some low cost 21 speed fat bikes on amazon and ebay ( cheapest ive seen so far is £850) if the gearing is right they are great to get around on and the lower ratios help you support the motor if its a Legal 250 watts 36 volt etc . i have one and its only 200 watts ( broke at the moment after 5 eyars hammer) .

Reactions: John3456

John3456

Just Joined
Oct 10, 2019