Folder conversion advice

fildok

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 6, 2011
So I'm still wondering what to do and like some others on here I've ended up tying myself in knots with all the options up for grabs.
I'm looking for a not too expensive folder for canal trips etc . Somewhere on here someone suggested converting a Claude Butler Cirrus with a Bafang mid drive.. so I would like to ask the folks on here who have more knowledge than I a few questions.
Can anyone see a problem(s) doing this taking into account that although I am quite handy I have never done anything like this before.
Who would I purchase the kit from?
Would I be better of with a generic type folder that everyone seems to be selling under their own moniker?
I don't mind the latter but most of the stuff under a grand seems to be pretty low spec with the battery behind the seat post down tube - I think that's the technical term.
Feedback appreciated.

Phil

D

Deleted member 4366

Hub-motors become much more attractive for bikes with small wheels because you get a substantial rise in torque. A small motor, like the Q100H or Q100C is very light. A 201 rpm one with a S06S controller and a Luna Mighty Mini 52v battery will give a speed of about 18 mph and give masses of torque for climbing. One of those will save you about 2kg compared with a crank-drive.

Another problem with crank-drives and bikes with small wheels is the gearing. The standard 44T chainring on BBSxx is designed for big wheels. A bike with 20 " wheels needs at least 50T with a 11T at the back. If you have a 14T freewheel on the back, you need a 60T chainring.

Last edited by a moderator:

fildok

Sep 6, 2011