Free AVG and online banking ?

funkylyn

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 22, 2011
South Shields, Tyne & Wear
Ive always used free AVG on my laptop, but up until now have not done my banking online.

Any advice/opinions on whether this is adequate ?
My instincts are that I should pay for their upgrade protection which covers banking security.

Are my instincts right ?

Lynda :)

funkylyn

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 22, 2011
Thanks clockwise, btw I use chrome and I tend to be brand loyal so I want to stay with AVG as Ive always found it easy and good, its just I dont think the free version is enough.
Does anyone else risk online banking with the free avg cover ?

funkylyn

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 22, 2011
Thanks alan thats reassuring to hear....might have saved myself £36 then :cool:

Richard_M

Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2013
Ely, East Englia.
Great news, Lynda. I've been banking online for 3 years with AVG free too. Nothing alarming has happened. Also on Linux with no antivirus at all, but that's an entirely different topic.

funkylyn

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 22, 2011
Great news, Lynda. I've been banking online for 3 years with AVG free too. Nothing alarming has happened. Also on Linux with no antivirus at all, but that's an entirely different topic.
Seems like I have been worrying over nothing then, and sounds like it would be a better idea to buy you all a drink with the £36 instead of giving it to AVG :cool:

D

Deleted member 4366

A much better solution is to put Ubuntu Linux on a spare laptop, and use it for anything that requires security. Linux is all plug and play these days and easier than Windows, plus it's free and so is all associated software. You use Linux on your smartphone already.

Richard_M

Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2013
Ely, East Englia.
A much better solution is to put Ubuntu Linux on a spare laptop.