Front Hub Motor - Dropouts

Oldie

Pedelecer
Mar 29, 2013
Scotland
Time that I got round to buying a kit to fit my Claud Butler Legend and I'm looking for something fairly straightforward to provide occasional assistance on hills, but mainly for headwinds as I'll be using the bike mostly in Holland. I reckon that a front hub motor, 8 amp battery and thumb shift will be fine. Not convinced that I need a pedelec fitting although I have no experience without one. The battery will preferably be the bottle type as I may not have room for a frog battery due to saddle height and pannier frame intruding. I would also rather avoid the pannier mounted ones due to the fact that I'm already carrying quite a few kilos of gear in my rear bags. For the required purpose, I think that I'll be happy to live with a 25kph restriction.

The bike has RST Sofi ML forks and are 100mm wide with 10mm wide dropouts (my measurements). I've read on here about the need to file the dropouts in order to accommodate the new axle but a diagram would be a big help. Am I also correct in saying that a torque arm is needed because the forks are alloy?

I've trawled through numerous posts to get a better idea of what I'm after and some of the kits offered by the main dealers on here are very appealing. However, for this project, I'm trying to do it as cheaply as possible (with the associated risks) as my e-bike expenditure continues to escalate :D Oh, and I'm reasonably handy with a spanner, but no engineer!

banbury frank

Banned
Jan 13, 2011
Hi Cyclotricty are getting a good name for kits basic kit can be upgraded

I know they are all going to comment on buy from china direct BUT what arrives is yours working or not then there is the vat and duty to pay UK supplier price they Quote is the price you pay And it comes with SUPPORT and a 12 month warranty I will say that again SUPPORT

Electric Bike Kit - from £399 with brushless 250W motor. Buy online at Cyclotricity