Hello all newbie here in S.E London needing some good honest sound advice

haltny

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 19, 2013
Hello all,

I am a complete newbie to this forum and electric bikes so i'd like to say hello. Years ago I knew someone who rode a pedelec but it was designed for a granny and weighed as much as a killer whale. Oh how times have changed. I hadn't given pedelecs much thought until recently when as usual I was sitting in crawling rush hour traffic on my way to work and saw someone on a pedelec zoom past me and every other miserable driver with a smug grin on his face. Time to rethink my travel arrangements!

So I've been looking at many options, I have tried a few, some I've liked, some not so much.

Originally I had my heart set on something stupidly expensive and snazzy a Haibike, but as I've done more research and learnt more I realise this is not the bike for me. I have tried a BH Emotion Neo Cross which I liked a lot, but I cannot bring myself to cough up over £2000. Today I tried a Whisper 905 just to see what it was like, which whilst I can see it is a good bike, I felt it lacked real grunt and was definitely not for me.

The other bike I've tried was a standard mountain bike with a BOSS super system from a cycle retailer in north London, I tried the 36v (£1500) and the 48v (£2000). I absolutely loved the 48v kit, it was a flying machine (although the shop made me very aware that the kit was not road legal and that I would use it entirely at my own risk) and after a test ride (of course on some local brownfield site not a road) I arrived back at the shop so knackered from pedaling that I almost collapsed! This was definitely the kit for me, I dropped the idea of buying a ready made bike and decided to get my Dahon Cadenza P18 converted, but then after the adrenalin had subsided (several days) I decided that £2000 was a bit rich for a kit.

This is where I need some good solid advice from the people in the know.