Hello from Yorkshire

SwampRodent

Pedelecer
Jun 19, 2019

Hi Peoples,

Just joined this forum, I work as an electrical engineer on fuel cell systems in the North of the UK, however to get to and from work by car involves a nasty commute that can take a couple of hours staring at someone’s brake lights involving 38 sets of traffic lights and 9 roundabouts so I built the swamp rodent (that will become clear shortly). This lets me complete the inward commute in half an hour and the return journey in 42 minutes including a savage 800 foot climb. The return journey is longer as turning right on dual carriageway roundabouts will get me killed so I do an extra 4 miles through dense countryside.

The machine has now covered 22,000 brutal miles in 4 years, and boy am I getting sore! The terrain includes dual carriageways, country lanes, canal paths, river banks, a quarry, a meadow, a forest, a length of single track with a mud and root festooned 30 degree drop, a farm yard, a sports arena and for 6 months of the year something that resembles a swamp, it’s pretty awesome, we had a foot of snow a couple of years back and I was one of the few people to make it to work although to be fair that was on my custom ice bike!