How should I upgrade a bike with a coaster brake?

paula.

Just Joined
Jun 6, 2021
Hey everyone, newbie here. I'm looking to convert this bike to electric: https://www.chainreactioncycles.com/cn/en/van-tuyl-porter-rn3-extra-ladies-urban-bike/rp-prod199751
Ideally, I would like to keep my coaster brake. I was thinking about getting the Tongsheng TSDZ2 but I live in a very hilly area and I read a lot of posts about how it isn't the best motor for hills. I've also considered the Bafang front hub kit, but I'm pretty sure I can't keep my brake with that. I also thought about getting the bafang 8-fun mid-drive, but I know I'd have to change my brakes with that one too. Any suggestions? I just want a bike that I can get up the hills on my commute with. I don't want a 250 Watt, preferably 350 or 500.

peter.c

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 24, 2018
thurrock essex
The coaster brake will not be an easy conversion, very poor stopping power and with no front brake a safety problem
The option to fit that bike is really only the tsdz2 coaster brake version .But my first choice would be change the bike to one with disc brakes then think about a conversion

paula.

Just Joined
Jun 6, 2021
The coaster brake will not be an easy conversion, very poor stopping power and with no front brake a safety problem
The option to fit that bike is really only the tsdz2 coaster brake version .But my first choice would be change the bike to one with disc brakes then think about a conversion
What if I just installed disc brakes on this bike? I really like this model since it's such a comfy ride.

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
Looks a very nice and neat bike. I'm surprised just the single coaster brake is legal even without electric help. I think fitting disk brakes will be difficult if it doesn't have mounts; similarly V-brakes. You could probably fit a double-pivot brake using the front carrier mount on the forks.