Hub gears and throttle for £1,000

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
Having gained a reputation locally as an ebike expert, I have been asked to recommend a bike with hub gears and a throttle for about £1,000.

The one that immediately springs to mind is eZee Sprint 8, but I don't know if it has a throttle.

The web page doesn't mention one, but something rings a bell that eZee bikes have a left hand throttle.

Can someone confirm one way or t'other?

Any other recommendations that meet the spec welcome.

http://www.cyclezee.com/ezee-sprint-8.html

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
They always used to have a l/h throttle but at one time had the EAF switched level power control, so I'm not sure now. The photo of the crossbar Sprint on your link definitely shows a l/h throttle fitted, so they probably still have them. Check with Cyclezee to be sure:

email: cyclezee@gmail.com

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
They always used to have a l/h throttle but at one time had the EAF switched level power control, so I'm not sure now. The photo of the crossbar Sprint on your link definitely shows a l/h throttle fitted, so they probably still have them. Check with Cyclezee to be sure:

email: cyclezee@gmail.com

Thanks, Flecc.

I'm not sure how interested the guy is, but I will shunt him in Cyclezee's direction and they can sort it between them.

hoppy

May 25, 2010
Having gained a reputation locally as an ebike expert, I have been asked to recommend a bike with hub gears and a throttle for about £1,000.

The one that immediately springs to mind is eZee Sprint 8, but I don't know if it has a throttle.

The web page doesn't mention one, but something rings a bell that eZee bikes have a left hand throttle.

Tonaro Esprit. Powerpedals website still has it on special offer at £999 delivered.

Last edited:

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
Tonaro Esprit. Powerpedals website still has it on special offer at £999 delivered.
Good point, well made.

I will add it to the list.