Hub motor wheel building

WheezyRider

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 20, 2020
I'm looking to replace the rim that came with my rear hub motor kit, as spokes are beginning to fail and it is a very average rim anyway. So I've bought a decent rim, however, I'm finding it difficult to find a shop prepared to do wheel building with hub motors. The last shop I went into the guy said "We don't mess with that Chinese hub motor crap, we only sell mid drive e-bikes...we plug them into the laptop and they sort themselves out..." :rolleyes:

I wouldn't mind experimenting with building the wheel myself, it would be a useful exercise as I've never done it before but I don't want to splash out on getting a load of spokes to then find I've calculated the spoke length incorrectly and I've then got to buy another load of the correct length :oops:

How successful have people here been in getting their hub motor laced into a wheel? Would anyone here be able to advise on spoke length for a given hub and rim set and spoke pattern?

awol

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 4, 2013
Everything you need to know about wheel building is in this excellent book (well worth the cost) and he has a spoke length calculator on the website too.
There is also sheldon Brown's great guide.

Gavin

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 11, 2020
If you decide to go down the professional route, don't let a few lazy bike shops put you off.

Spoked wheels aren't exclusive to pushbikes and there's some very talented wheelbuilders in the world of classic cars and motorbikes with transferrable skills.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
You need to input the details in to a spoke calculator.
https://www.wheelpro.co.uk/spokecalc/

You will need to know the rim ERD (effective rim diameter) this is the seat position of the nipple to the opposite side, the hubs spoke hole effective diameter.
For the lacing you will have to opt for 1x or 2x depending on the hub diameter used and the rim size.

A good lacing guide.