Im so confused!

Gambit9606

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jan 7, 2021
So, it appears im not that technically minded, and with lockdown i cant go and try anything out - so im asking for help from y'all.

Im disabled and currently using an electronic scooter to get around, but as we all know the police are now clamping down on users and so im wary about using it for any great distance (ive already been stopped once)

So i figure i would do best with an ebike. ideally i want something thats going to do a lot of the work for me - but dont really have a massive amount of money to spend on a bike.

I have been given a fixed gear bike, so i could use a conversion kit - but honestly im just confused at what im looking for.

If you know of any good kits, or reliable bikes that will enable me to commute to work id really appreciate your help!

Gambit9606

Jan 7, 2021
Max Speed: 30-32km/h
That s gonna be illegal (just) , if you're worried about getting stopped.
i figure im less likely to be stopped for a bike than i am a scooter - and from what ive seen i can limit output if needed

PP100

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 28, 2020
Well in theory to be legal it has to have a label showing the wattage which must have a maximum power output of 250 watts - your link has 350.
But you can take a chance you won't attract attention.
But wait for more replies as to suitability etc for your condition.

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
are you asking how im disabled? I have a chronic pain condition, CF and my knees and other joints like to dislocate
I can't see that a fixed gear bike is going to be good for you then. Get a normal cheap MTB catalogue type bike and fit a Woosh 48v rear hub-motor kit. There are a few 48v bikes on Ebay, but avoid any with the large direct drive motors in then.

Gambit9606

Jan 7, 2021