Just bought a used Woosh Fat Boy

MikeFB

Pedelecer
Jun 25, 2020
Wow guys, sorry if my post has caused a bit of a stir? But atleast I have learn't a few things even if most of it was out of my depth of knowledge and understanding.

Just to be clear here, I'm an ex driving instructor I have no desire to go beyond the legal speed limits of 15.5 mph. I may not always be sensible 100% of the time, but I don't want to affect my licence with even the remotest of chances with these bikes.

Having said that I live in a hilly area and surrounded by roads with 10+ degree gradients and even some as much as 20 degrees.

This is my first ebike and as such I didn't know what to expect. What was just a little disappointing was the lack of power to maintain speed as the roads started to incline even at PAS 6. Now to clarify the FB is a big bike, however it did with some effort from me get to the top of these very steep hills, albeit slowly and me panting. I doubt I could have got up some of these hills with my old Raleigh Record Sprint that's been in my garage for 35+ years. The G06 motor is a great motor and I know it has one of the best torque ratings for a 250w motor. Therefore I'm sure with any 36v 250w rated motor I would have also struggled and may not have even got up some of those hills.

I did however get out on a longer ride yesterday on more flat roads with a mix of different graded hills and I have to say I am very happy with the performance, build and quality of the Woosh FB. It feels well put together, solid and hopefully will be reliable.

I plan on keeping it as it is and maybe next year look to upgrade to a 48v bike just to give me that extra 33% more for those hills. I just wish I could get closer to that 15.5 mph limit going up a hill.

MikeFB

Pedelecer
Jun 25, 2020
OK, I'm starting to learn more and more about these ebikes. I have a question for all you knowledgeable people out there.