KT LCD5 turns on and then straight off

roques

Finding my (electric) wheels
Nov 17, 2021
I've had an electric bike for around a year and a half now. It's an Urban Drivestyle Uni Micro and it's been great.

I've just started having an issue with the KT-LCD5 controller however. When I go to turn the bike on (batteries all charged) I press the power on button and the display comes on. However as soon as I remove my finger it goes straight off again.

This happened last week and there seemed to be an issue with the battery connectors which is fixed now and it worked fine for a few days, but now it's just stopped working again.

I've got some relatively decent knowledge of fixing electronics so I've checked battery voltage and opened the controller up and it looks visibly fine.

Nas anyone got any ideas what could be causing this and how to fix it short of buying a new display? I'm reluctant to buy a new display because I don't know if that's the issue or if it could be the controller.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Check for battery voltage on the wire supply to the display, if you get a good reading then the display may be faulty. One wants the Gnd & V+ wires/contacts.

roques

Nov 17, 2021
Check for battery voltage on the wire supply to the display, if you get a good reading then the display may be faulty. One wants the Gnd & V+ wires/contacts.
Checked those and it's showing the same voltage as the battery...

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
A fault within likely then, a broken off wire from a solder pad or a broken wire in the cable ?
Or may be just a faulty button switch.

roques

Nov 17, 2021
A fault within likely then, a broken off wire from a solder pad or a broken wire in the cable ?
Or may be just a faulty button switch.
The solder pads are okay and the PCB looks intact and not damaged.