Light weight folding bike for a lady

Sarah77

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 1, 2016
NorthEast
Hi there

I am a female (not very fit really) looking for a light weight ebike. I am new to ebike world, and had no experience on all kinds of spec. etc. So your help will be very appreciated.
I live in a hilly town, coummute distance to work is rather short (less than 10 miles in total) but hilly.
I did a lot of research but I cannot really find what I am looking for, any suggestion please.
First I ordered Halfords Coyote Connect Folding Electric, but then I cannot lift in / out of the car (very heavy) so I had to return it, and I got Dahon vitesse folding bike which I am very happy with but yet it is not electric and I have to go off the bike on every hill.

I am flexible on budget however going over £1000 means the bike will be more attractive for theif given that I want to leave it outside when I go to my office.

It seems that it is diffcult to find lightweight ebike, so what I found so far

Cyclotricity Wallet Folding Electric bike < 17kg. cost £899
Tesco hopper eclub folding electric bike about 19kg cost £450-500 (I found out that this may be less powerful but can still do hills?)
halfords coyote commute electric bike about 19kg cost at the moment £640
kudos secret about 19kg cost £765
woosh bikes are much heavier (and not the prettiest so I exclude them from the list)

I thought about conversion kit however as I have no idea about ebike I will not be able to do it myself and it seems very expensive, but I am open to suggestion if it will offer me the more efficient and light weight I am looking for.
Need your help.

Thank you

Angelnorth

Pedelecer
May 13, 2016
Hexham, Northumberland
Hello Sarah77, welcome!

As you're finding out, "lightweight" and "e-bike" is not really a combination you find at anything like a budget price (carbon frames might be different but way out of the casual user's budget!).