Lithium-ion 18650 cells £1.00 each. Cardiff

Andrew

Pedelecer
Oct 30, 2010
Hi, is there any interest in the following,

I have managed to obtain a small crate of lithium 18650 cells all from refurbished lap tops.

They are various brands, sanyo, sony, samsung.
All are at least 2Ah cells if not over, so should be treated as 2ah.
Specs: 4.2v fully charged.
3.7v nominal
Protected battery cut off 2.7v
A very safe chemistry for home built packs.
The higher the amp hour (paralleled) battery build the better max amps. 12ah will easily give 25 amps in my opinion. 30 amp max with 16 or 18ah but there will be noticeable voltage sag if used this high for more than peak moments.
I believe the cells are all 2C current discharge rated.

I am currently balancing and testing the cells which will take some time.

I have been using 18650 cells myself for over the past 3 years from the same source as the ones i am advertising here with no problems. I currently use them with my bafang BPM 216 rpm motor at 25 amp peaks on 54v 8ah pack and that does any easy 10 miles. I have also used them on a magic pie and have built packs for friends.
I have built a number of packs and could also offer this service too, so you could have a battery pack ready to go if that would suit you, but of course this would come at a little extra cost due to needing an in-line fuse and connector and wires etc, and my precious time.

I would sell 20 cells at a time minimum which would be the equivalent of a 42v 4Ah pack.

The only problem is they cannot be posted , so pick up only at the moment.

I live 5 minutes from Junction 28 or 30 off the M4 motorway in Cardiff.

Send me a personal message if interested.

As stated above the cells are currently being balanced and tested so they are not quite ready to be picked up.

Thanks everyone

Andrew

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 4366