Looking for step through bike for my wife?

Ben Jones

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 19, 2018
I'm new to electric bikes and so I've been looking around for a good but modestly priced electric bike for a while. My wife needs a bike for shopping and getting around town. Luckily where we live there aren't any hills so she doesn't need a powerful motor. Also, I don't want to spend a lot as this is her first bike and looking for something she can get used to quickly.

Looking around I've come across a few models but we are not sure which might be the best.

Would like people's opinions of these two bikes?

https://www.e-bikesdirect.co.uk/brands/cyclotricity/cyclotricity-sahara-electric-bike

https://www.rctoyworld.co.uk/zipper-z5-city-deluxe-electric-ebike-cycle-bike-24---midnight-blue-126718-p.asp

Last edited:

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
I'd say avoid the RC Toyworld bike, it uses a special in-frame battery that might not be available when you need a replacement, something that often happens with such bikes.

The Cyclotricity looks good value and will meet your undemanding needs ok.

Ben Jones

Sep 19, 2018
Seems a new battery is quite expensive as well! so how long do batteries last?

Also, do more expsneive bikes have better quality batteries? Would it better and cheaper long term to buy a more upmarket bike?

flecc

Oct 25, 2006

Also, do more expsneive bikes have better quality batteries? Would it better and cheaper long term to buy a more upmarket bike?
The battery life tends to be related to price and quality. It's not uncommon for them to fail by two years, while some of the best have been lasting five years or more. But the battery price differences do even that out a bit, ranging from around £250 to three times that.

Regular use is important, if out of use for months such as in winter it's important to top up the charge every couple of months.

• Agree
Reactions: Wisper Bikes

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester