Mid motor geers slipping

Rodders

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jun 24, 2020
Hi folks, I'm new to Pedlecs forum so apologies if this topic has been covered a trillion times already (couldn't find it, but then the forums here are very busy and very interesting!) I've just completed my first torque sensing, mid motor conversion on my girlfriends 25 year old Giant city bike, it all went well and was no more technically challenging then I expected. Thing is when lots of power is on the geers slip, I really cleaned and inspected the chain and cassette and both were visually in great condition. I suspect that this was naive of me and the only solution will be a new chain and cassette? Your thoughts?

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
Incorrect adjustment of the B-screw on the back of the derailleur or the chain is too long. The motor puts four times as much force on the chain compared with you on your own. Problems might not show themselves until under maximum stress.

peter.c

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 24, 2018
thurrock essex
How many teeth on the original front chain wheel and how many on the motor [suspect the chain is to long]
As a rule of thumb i change the chain and rear cogs when upgrading to a mid drive for piece of mind

Andy-Mat

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 26, 2018
Hi folks, I'm new to Pedlecs forum so apologies if this topic has been covered a trillion times already (couldn't find it, but then the forums here are very busy and very interesting!) I've just completed my first torque sensing, mid motor conversion on my girlfriends 25 year old Giant city bike, it all went well and was no more technically challenging then I expected. Thing is when lots of power is on the geers slip, I really cleaned and inspected the chain and cassette and both were visually in great condition. I suspect that this was naive of me and the only solution will be a new chain and cassette? Your thoughts?
Exactly my thoughts.