Motor making sound like bumblebee stuck inside it :(

The Maestro

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2008
Rode my bike home from work yesterday and noticed that it was making a rattley trapped bumble bee sound. Power seemed to be down and speed down by about 30%. I could also feel a rapid vibration through the handlebars.

My motor does make a fair amount of noise normally especially when powering up hills. When just gliding along it normally just makes a humming noise. I've been riding it almost daily for 9 months and I'm familiar with all the normal sounds, this is a different thing. What could have happened? Could it be the battery which I've already had a lot of trouble with?

The sound isn't present if the wheel is lifted in the air so it must require a slight load to cause the load.

Motor type: Suzhou Bafang 37V 26" wheel gearing

torrent99

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 14, 2008
Highgate, London
Rode my bike home from work yesterday and noticed that it was making a rattley trapped bumble bee sound. Power seemed to be down and speed down by about 30%. I could also feel a rapid vibration through the handlebars.

My motor does make a fair amount of noise normally especially when powering up hills. When just gliding along it normally just makes a humming noise. I've been riding it almost daily for 9 months and I'm familiar with all the normal sounds, this is a different thing. What could have happened? Could it be the battery which I've already had a lot of trouble with?

The sound isn't present if the wheel is lifted in the air so it must require a slight load to cause the load.

3 possibilities I can think of:
1) Broken wire for one of the hall sensors (thin wires) or motor coils.
2) Broken hall sensor in the motor. (I've read of people replacing these)
3) Broken gear...

Check your connections...

flecc

Oct 25, 2006