My battery range: is it normal?

CycleEye

Finding my (electric) wheels
Aug 31, 2021
Hi there,

I'm pretty new to e-bikes and batteries. I've recently built a steel frame road bike commuter conversion (rear hub). It's working nicely, but my battery seemed to run down alarmingly quickly today and I'm trying to work out if it's normal or not.

These are the specs:
I had run a rough estimation on the Bosch calculator tool (obviously not entirely accurate as I don't have a Bosch bike) and it returned 140km. That seems way too high though. I also used the 'divide your Wh by 12 to get km range' method, which returns 60km, and seems much more realistic.

My usage this time was: full charge yesterday, then two rides combining to 25km last night and today which pretty much ran the battery close to empty. It was pretty windy, I live in an area with decent hills, and I tend to ride with PAS level 5 and lots of throttle. So I realise those all decrease range.

The battery is more or less brand new from a reputable seller:

Tiger Shark Battery, known for its durability and water resistance. Backed with high quality BAK 18650 cells.

Built with a 30A continuous discharge, this battery is built for higher powered motors, run at maximum power

All cells used in our batteries are 100% new and tested to International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) standard 62133-2-2017 or 2012, beware as many Australian suppliers do not mention the brand of cell used

Here's a picture of the bike for reference: https://photos.app.goo.gl/jMiYxgWuc5VfEfYr7

My question is, do you think it's reasonable that they would halve the range, if 60km is a reasonable estimate? 30km isn't ideal for my purposes.

Everything you read says you should be getting more than that, not discounting all the many variables, with 750Wh.

Thank you!

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales