new member needs assistance

Kevin williams

Pedelecer
Sep 16, 2014
Hi, im new to electric bikes having just purchased a powabyke x6 and I am extremely happy with it but for reasons unknown it does not cutout at 15.5mph but keeps going to 22.5 mph before power cuts out?I am not complaining about this as after using it I can see that 15.5mph isnt quick enough for me, the downside to this is that the battery dies a lot quicker than it should ( 9 miles on assist).I also bought a alien ocean kit second hand on ebay with an 36v 10ah/8fun 250w motor but I find this too sloooow and im wondering if there is any way to improve the power/ speed without spending a lot? My knowledge on battery/ controller/ motor is limited so any help would be much appreciated, thanks kev

D8ve

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2013
Bristol
Welcome Kev there are others here who can advise you better on details but running at 150% speed will use circa 2-3 times the power so 9 miles is not silly range at all especially if you have hills traffic lights and weigh a bit too.

Kevin williams

Pedelecer
Sep 16, 2014
Hi d8ve, thanks for the reply, any ideas on why it would be running so fast? From what ive read on here 250 w motors dont usually get to that speed even if unrestricted, im 6'4" and 14 1/2 stone and live in a place called penygraig( top of hill) in South Wales where the only way home is up a steep hill which kills the battery very quickly so the range is expected with the small 6ah battery but I got another so its not too bad, the only issue I have with it i its noisy when under load/ starting off. Any suggestions to beefing up the alien kit? Thanks kev

D8ve

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2013
Bristol
D8veh will help mutch better on this I only know a little about the illegal stuff.