New Torq gear cable problem - help!

WoodyAlan

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 21, 2007
Shropshire
Hi, brand new Torq for 50 cycles, only on 3rd ride, gears suddenly dont respond to changing levers. Im a complete novice when it comes to bike repairs but had a look, and found that gear changing wire and plastic had 'jumped out' of housing where it runs along back end of bike frame and gear cable was very slack.....except now I cant get it back behind the holder - why is that?.

Ive tried lossening the gear wire and retightening it, everything seemed very loose before I started this, and a connector at the gear housing (sorry dont know terminology) was loose to the extent that it could almost be unsrewed. Ive tried rethreading all the gears (loosening the 'excess' bit of wire, pulling taut etc) but the gears still wont respond to the lever change? now Ive got a bike stuck in top gear that I cant use.

Anyone spot what I need to do to fix this? Im not keen on having to send this back to 50cycles if its a simple job to fix, but equally I did expect to be able to use a bike 3 times before it had problems. If its not a simple job Im considering a return to 50cycles.

Thanks in advance for any advice

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
It sounds like the rear changer may have stuck for some reason, letting the cable jump out. It probably only really needed the rear changer mechanism freeing up and the cable outer refitted in it's frame cup at both ends. Now you've altered the cable it may need more attention to correct that.

This can be just a normal bike shop repair though, the gears being a standard Shimano Sora set. If you don't want to send the bike back to 50cycles, any competent bike shop mechanic can fix it for you without any problem, making sure it's freely operating and correcting any alterations that you've made.

If the repairer says it more serious/expensive on inspection, you still have the option of returning it open to you.

Last edited:

WoodyAlan

Feb 21, 2007