Newbie can't decide what kit to get

scbk

Pedelecer
Feb 25, 2019
Highlands
Hi folks

Have been browsing this forum for the last couple of weeks.

My other half recently bought an ebike - Focus adventura with the Bosch system, and I was completely blown away by it.
I'm not a cyclist but love going out for a wee run on a bike, but always struggle with hills, hence now looking at conversion kits

The bike I have is a 6 yr old Revolution Trailfinder (Edinburgh bikes), hybrid, no suspension, vee brakes. Cheap but good bike (to me)

Beyond oiling the chain or fixing a puncture I have no experience in bicycle maintenance or terminology, but like to think I'm handy with a set of spanners.

It's seems there's too much choice with ebike conversion kits?!
Can't decide between front or rear hub motors, what battery?
What supplier?
Ideally easy to fit without too much fiddling about :p

Cheers :)

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Yours wife's bike is torque sensor so go to a bike shop or Halfrauds and try a cadence hub bike to compare.
If you like one over the other then let that decide which type of drive kit to buy.

In the UK Woosh are the best suppliers of kits and sell mostly cadence drive kitst and have a center/mid motor torque kit or if you wait till about April they will be selling a torque sensor drive kit for a hub motor. For hub motor front is slightly easier to fit but rear hubs drive feel and ride better.

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
na get one of these :)
1551141079651.png

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
I'd second the comment about Woosh as a good supplier.

You don't say how big or steep the hills are. A front hub kit is easy to fit, but not the best if the hills are long and steep. A crank drive with the motor taking advantage of the gears is best in that case.