Burroo67

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jul 29, 2020
Clydebank
Hi Guys,
I am new to e-biking having just bought a Giant Fastroad E+1 Pro 202 via my employers Cycle 2 Work scheme. I love the bike and am amazed how it makes light work of hills, I just wish I had it 6 weeks ago when my wife and I went to the Borders for a cycling holiday and I was knackered while she had HER e-bike and was passing me going uphill!!

We'll end up back at the Borders as it was terrific with some lovely, quiet B roads to cycle on - and very few potholes.

I would like to ask a serious question if I may, does anyone ride their e-bike for leisure/commuting that has changed to cleat pedals and shoes and would they recommend their use. Also would I go for MTB type shoes and cleats foe easier walking when off the bike, I'm thinking of winter coming in and slippery pedals?

Many thanks

jimriley

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 17, 2020
I got a pair of hybrid pedals, cleat on one side, flat with grips on the other, My cleat shoes are mtb ones with a half decent tread on them too.
So I have a choice.

Reactions: Burroo67

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
I would like to ask a serious question if I may, does anyone ride their e-bike for leisure/commuting that has changed to cleat pedals and shoes and would they recommend their use. Also would I go for MTB type shoes and cleats foe easier walking when off the bike, I'm thinking of winter coming in and slippery pedals?
Not a direct answer, but I use half clips. They keep the feet firmly on the pedals with any shoes (and even wellie boots) but are trivial to get out of when needed.

pajtaz

Pedelecer
Nov 8, 2019
Netherlands
Just like jimriley, I also use pedals with cleats on one side, flat on the other side. My pedals are Shimano PD-A530. This way I can use shoes with cleats when commuting or for longer rides but when I just need to take the bike around town, I wear normal shoes and use the other side of the pedal.