Next project: light assist bike

Alan Quay

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 4, 2012
Devon
I've been messing with electric bikes for a few years now, and as a result I'm a bit fitter than I was before. Still no superman, but I regularly cycle un-powered.

Problem is anywhere from my house involves some kind of steep hill. It puts me off and gives me an excuse to sit on my (slightly less) fat R's.

So I'm gonna sell some of my kit to fund a light assist, pedal sensor bike.

I've probably built 20 or so for friends, so I'm no stranger to a DIY conversion, but I have always gone for plenty of power, large batteries and throttle control.

I have a few spare 250w SWX motors in 26" rims, so will probably aim to use one of those (nothing set in stone so far).

Battery: I don't need anymore than 10ah. Don't need to go more than 15miles.

Speed: don't need to be assisted over 15mph.

Control: I want pedal/torque sensor.

Who has used the BMSb torque simulation controllers?
Any good? What did you think?

What about the controllers that are built into the 09 batteries? Any experiences?

29er? I'm 6ft, and I have spare 29er laying around. It would mean rebuilding a hub motor, or buying one. Worth the effort?

Any suggestions welcome.

anotherkiwi

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2015
The European Union
Control: I want pedal/torque sensor.

Who has used the BMSb torque simulation controllers?
Any good? What did you think?

What about the controllers that are built into the 09 batteries? Any experiences?

29er? I'm 6ft, and I have spare 29er laying around. It would mean rebuilding a hub motor, or buying one. Worth the effort?
I am not sure if mine is torque simulation one or not, I read it somewhere that it was I think. But get yourself a 12 magnet PAS disk it makes the world of difference on a sine wave controller.