PAS activation when back pedalling

Bizzertdog

Finding my (electric) wheels
Aug 6, 2020
Hi.

I’m a mechanic but very much a novice re eBikes. I’ve been looking at a tandem eBike with an unbranded electric assist on the front wheel (and installed by someone else). His PAS pickup has been working very inconsistently and today I took it off and tested showing it seems to pick up very intermittently, so I’ve replaced it with a new one from Amazon.

Now it works very well , except.... it also activates when back pedalling (installed acc to arrows on magnet wheel and sensor). Is this a sensor problem or an issue with the controller? Actually when test riding it hardly seems an issue, but I assume generally it shouldn’t do this?

Many thanks, Keith Slater.

Gringo

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 18, 2013
Northampton
Well I have no experience of this type of system but surely it’s just a magnet or series of magnets passing a sensor, the sensor won’t know (or care) in what direction the magnets are going, just that they are moving ;)
Its the same for any bike with a magnetic speed pickup, on any of the pedelpecs I’ve owned if I spin the wheel backwards it still registers the speed as if it’s going forward.
I think you’re looking for a problem that doesn’t exist.

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
The sensor does indeed care which way the magnets go. You'll have to take of the magnet disc, then flip it to make it work in the correct direction.

Some sensors are handed too, so they only work on one side, i.e. if you flip the disc, it won't work at all unless you move everything to the other side of the bike. Let's hope you haven't got one of those.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
One of my bikes activates backwards as well, so I always make sure the PAS is at 0 at start so when I push the bike back it doesn't kick in. I think that one is the D12 model.

Reactions: Bizzertdog

Bizzertdog

Aug 6, 2020