powabyke motors

mrfizz

Just Joined
Jul 3, 2012
does anyone know what type of motors i have in my bikes ,one is a early shopper with motor in back wheel and the other is a mk1 euro type thanks( brushed or brushless )thanks

neptune

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2012
Boston lincs
You can confirm this on any bike by counting the number of wires going into the motor. Two wires means a brushed motor. Brushless motors have five or more.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
These were always brush motors. The new Powabyke X bikes now have a brushless motor.

john a

Pedelecer
Jun 29, 2012
These were always brush motors. The new Powabyke X bikes now have a brushless motor.
I was told by Powabyke themselves just the other day that the X24 has a brushless motor while the X6 does not...

This, apparently, caused the motor failure I had on the X6. However, I am no expert.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
The X models were launched with the old brush motor, but that was later changed to the current brushless motor. I'd be surprised if the X6 still uses the old one, but they may be using up old stock on that lower priced model.

john a

Pedelecer
Jun 29, 2012
The X models were launched with the old brush motor, but that was later changed to the current brushless motor. I'd be surprised if the X6 still uses the old one, but they may be using up old stock on that lower priced model.
Quick check of the serial number from the X6 proves that theory correct. My X6 was sold this year, but was old stock apparently (wish I had known sooner!!). Newer versions all have brushless motors as you say.

fcurran

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 23, 2007
Bath
www.powabyke.com
As Flecc says, the Powabykes have changed to brushless motors on the MK2 range of XBykes. The easiest way to indentify if it's a MK2 is that they are all a polished alloy frame. Also the size of motor, the brushless is much smaller (145mm diameter) compared to the brushed motor (200mm diameter). These sizes are approx.

Kind Regards

FrankC

flash

Pedelecer