Request for advice anonimized

D8ve

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2013
Bristol
I received this as a personal message.

Could I ask you some advice please.
I sold an electric bike on facebook at Christmas second hand, I had replaced the control panel and crank twice after fitting it the wrong way round (mistakes happen).
I'm disabled with sensory neuropathy so often make the odd mistake, we're all human!

The buyer just phoned me wanting his money back, stating the battery is starting to smell and the crank is clicking.
Batteries only smell from either overcharging or shorted out in my opinion.
Crank just wants tightening up.
He's had it 4 months but says he's only used it three times (suspect).
When he collected it after I turned the crank around, he rode it home which is over 12 miles.
He's demanding his money back or he will bad mouth me on facebook, I've refused, it was a private sale, sold as seen.

My advice is I am not a lawyer, so I cannot give accurate advice.
However, in my experience you sold something four months ago, sold as seen.
It is a private sale and there is absolutely no comeback on you.
The Buyer has had four months to test. A week would have been adequate.
What ever is wrong is nothing to do with you now.
Threatening behaviour is potentially something for the police to consider.

D8ve

six9giant

Pedelecer
Apr 16, 2016
Maryport, Cumbria
Disability or Dyslexic has no consequence to this question.
I drop stuff all the time, as I have no sensory feelings in my hands or fingers, you just drop the odd word here or there...:)

As for the question.
I have informed the police and they have instructed me to ring them the minute he turns up outside my home, as I have cctv watching my driveway and vehicle.

D8ve

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 30, 2013
Bristol
Six9

I didn't want to name you.
Lets see if everyone agrees. but happy the police are backing you on this.

Reactions: six9giant

stumpy150

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 9, 2015
Yorkshire