Scott RC 10 Carbon Fibre MTB conversion - sensible or not?

Revoli

Finding my (electric) wheels
Nov 27, 2016
Wilts
Hi. I am new to the world of electric bikes. I have a range of ordinary bikes as I used to be a fanatical cyclist. I now have a heart problem that means I am not supposed to do any voluntary exercise. Need to restore my sanity and find a way to get back on two wheels. Conversion is my first thought, the Scott mountain bike being the first contender. Basically one of these. http://www.mtbr.com/cat/bikes/xc-suspensio/scott/genius-rc-10/prd_412995_1526crx.aspx
Carbon fibre frame, hydraulic brakes, weird geometry etc. A joy to ride but can I convert? A bottom bracket conversion is I suspect out. Front wheel would unbalance the whole thing and get no traction so rear wheel? 9 speed sis shimano bloc. That looks like a problem? Does anyone have any experience of converting high end (old) mountain bikes or is this a folly? Will the conversion kits get me around say a 20 mile off road circuit (moderate terrain). I can pedal flats in moderation but hills are out without some help. My kids are getting fed up of being tethered to my bike to pull me along. I think the whip was the killer.

Or should I just accept I have to stick with roads now and buy a hybrid bike and sell off my treasured two wheeled chums?

I also have a Brompton and a 35 year old superb Team Raleigh 531 road bike with lots of nice campagnolo bits. I could do one of those and have seen the Brompton kits which look good if a tad pricey. I would welcome any ideas or thoughts.

D

Deleted member 4366

What bottom bracket does it have? You can buy adapters for some, otherwise yoy have to make them yourself.

Revoli

Nov 27, 2016
Wilts
What bottom bracket does it have? You can buy adapters for some, otherwise yoy have to make them yourself.
It's a shimano xtr, so splined cranks. 73mm diameter I believe. Can you mount these things on Carbon frames?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

nemesis