Review Small, light, reliable, low resistance FRONT/REAR hub

Carbon.

Finding my (electric) wheels
Nov 24, 2020
Hello,

I would like to convert second bike to an e-bike. I am looking for a small, light, with lowest resistance front or rear hub.
Once I had and tested front Xiongda 1,5 kg but high resistance and then AKM Q100 2,1 kg which was quite good (low resistance - freewheel 25-30 sec) but it could be lighter.
In the meantime I noticed Bafang H600 (rear, 2kg, 30Nm), but I have no experience with it. The problem with Bafang is poor sales network. I can't find any place where it is selling.

What else you can recommend? My priorities are:
- low rolling resistance,
-low weight.

It would be for a light person, so 200-250W is enough.
What you can recommend more?
If you know a good store, also please share it :).

Attachments

wheeliepete

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 28, 2016
Devon

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
G370 14:6 ratio or AKM 75sx I think is about 14:2 ratio is lighter at 1.44kg.

Last edited:

Carbon.

Nov 24, 2020
Thank you.

Is there anyone who can check their free-wheeling time and e.g. record a movie?

It can be also other model of hub.

I measure free-wheeling time with raised wheel after max it's acceleration.

Results were between 10-25 sec usually. It is also am important factor by using electric kit particularly when you want/have to go without power .

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH