Tandem?

SRS

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 30, 2012
South Coast
My partner is selling her CBF600 after xmas and planning to use the money on an e-tandem.

The idea being to take our 5 year old daughter to and from school. She currently uses her dutch e-bike with a small seat.

Daughter is getting a bit big now. I have been looking around for e-tandems and they seem to be few and far between.

Anybody have any suggestions or pointers?
It may be that we end up making one but our preference would be and off the shelf bike.

Preferably legal.

SRS

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 30, 2012
South Coast

Kenny

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 13, 2007
West of Scotland
Don't think you'll be able to find any tandem with the stoker seat low enough for your 5 year old.

I've been using a Burley Piccolo for a few years. They fit from 4 - 10 years and are rock solid and stable.

Strangely they don't make them anymore but they come up on ebay now and again.

Last edited:

SRS

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 30, 2012
South Coast
Don't think you'll be able to find any tandem with the stoker seat low enough for your 5 year old.

I've been using a Burley Piccolo for a few years. They fit from 4 - 10 years and are rock solid and stable.

Strangely they don't make them anymore but the come up on ebay now and again.

Kenny, thanks for the suggestion. We have looked at these. Burley still showing them on their website.

On her dutch bike it would mean mounting to the current rear rack and not burley's. Battery being incorporated within the rack means we could not swap.

It may come to this in the end but she would prefer a self contained bike.

I have seen a british made tandem that would take a 5yr old upwards. CIRCE HELIOS, sorry IPad does not add hyperlink for some reason.

Looks ideal but not electric. If I can't come up with an off the shelf e tandem then this one may be the answer. I am happy to add an electric kit, would pick the brains on this forum if I went this route..

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012