Turning off motor going downhill

OldPedaller

Pedelecer
Aug 20, 2011
I met a guy recently who told me that he'd been advised by a technician at the ebike retailer (50 Cycles) that it would be good practice to turn off the motor if cruising down a long downhill. He has a crank drive bike.
Anyone got opinions on this? I'm no techie but couldn't think of any reason/advantage for doing this.

Andy-Mat

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 26, 2018
I met a guy recently who told me that he'd been advised by a technician at the ebike retailer (50 Cycles) that it would be good practice to turn off the motor if cruising down a long downhill. He has a crank drive bike.
Anyone got opinions on this? I'm no techie but couldn't think of any reason/advantage for doing this.
Not really any reason, there might be a really tiny saving on Battery power IF you usually pedal while going downhill.
Some new & expensive bikes apparently use hills to recover energy and pass it back to the battery, though I myself have no experience of such a bike.
Generally speaking, as someone already mentioned, what that "guy" told you is useless information to my mind.
Ignore it!!
Andy

georgehenry

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 7, 2015
Surrey
I tend to turn my Haibike sDuro hard tail Yamaha off on many downhill sections I ride both on and off road.

I have just got into that habit after all it is very easy to change from assist to off and back again.

I have been riding the Haibike to work and back since I got it in 2015 (Off road to work and road back) and although I have a variety of off road routes I now know the gradients very well and also ride quite a few bits with the motor off on the way to work.