Twist n Go

BarleyRiser

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jan 16, 2021
Trowbridge
I'm new to electric bikes and slightly confused by some terms used. I've tried to make sure that reviews etc, I've read are recent, after the 2016(?) changes. The Pedibal Navigata CitE looks good. I read a review from The Guardian from late 2017 and it said nothing about problems, but the term 'Twist n Go' to 15.5mph got me worried. The firm says "we can confirm our Navigata confirms to CE & UK requirements are certified with the DVSA in relation to our 'Twist n Go' throttle specification" and "we can confirm the Navigata is not classed as a motor vehicle and does not require insurance"

Does this mean all is ok?

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
It does look a bit suspicious. The throttle rules are very confusing though so maybe it is OK, but doesn't match my (limited) understanding of the rules.

In any case, also look at https://wooshbikes.co.uk/?rambletta. A little cheaper. Much larger capacity battery, well recommended company for customer service. I haven't compared details. Beware 'up to' ranges (eg on the Pedibal), those are in ideal conditions, real ranges are 1/2 or even 1/3 of quoted 'up to' ranges.

BarleyRiser

Jan 16, 2021
Trowbridge
Thanks. Agree wholeheartedly about 'up to'. This applies even more in your recommendation where it says it's good for "5'10" or taller riders"! No help to me as 8' is taller, but presumably not good. If they mean up to 6'6" or similar it would help. Any ideas about maximum height?

Edward Elizabeth

Pedelecer
Aug 10, 2020
Buckinghamshire
Why would the DVSA certify it if its not a motor vehicle? In any case, its the Vehicle Certification Agency that decides what is a motor vehicle and requires type approval, and what is not - that is not what the DVSA do at all, so they're talking out their arrises.